I think I’m writing in a fixed width font

Simon was doing sentence analysis (something that he quite likes), but this time it involved writing (and he hates physical writing). Even though he has been writing since age 3 and enjoyed teaching himself most beautiful fonts and cursives at ages 4 and 5, he currently hates writing things down and prefers typing, getting impressively quick on both qwerty and azerty keyboards. While toiling away with his exhausting worksheet today he mumbled: “I think I’m writing in a fixed width font. That’s also called a monospace font sometimes”. I laughed and put down what he said, because it sounded really funny in that context. He brightened up at my interest, got up and gave me a sudden presentation about the 5 kinds of fonts: Sans-Serif (normal fonts without serifs, such as Arial or Helvetica), Serif (like Times New Roman or Georgia), Monospace (or fixed width fonts), Cursive (to emulate handwriting) and Fantasy (fonts for decoration, like Impact). He then got back to his worksheet. This way we sort of teach each other.

img_3406

2 thoughts on “I think I’m writing in a fixed width font

  1. When I was a kid, I hated physical writing more than anyone in the world (at least I was pretty sure.) Im nearly 40 and its no better now– I can go to much trouble and get out a fairly reasonable font, but it simply isnt natural.

    People assumed i was being lazy, or picky, or simply looking for an excuse not to do handwriting. I never learned to type per se– I just got better and better at using the keyboard through using it. From age 7 (when I got a printer) I preferred to type all my homework, and some of my classwork (which I took home when I could get away with it.)

    Years later I find out theres a real thing called “dysgraphia.” Its a pain (not so much physical pain, its more like having a tooth pulled with anesthesia) to write, its unbelievably tedious. Practicing for all your life doesnt really make it get any easier.

    I thought I would mention it, just in case Simons got it too. Its not laziness– Id almost rather type out a book than write out an essay.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment! I don’t think Simon’s got disgraphia though as he can write beautifully, also in Chinese and in Russian (the latter one of his two native languages). He used to be obsessed about writing and spent whole days perfecting his fonts. He can copy any computer fond manually, from memory! I think it’s more like being efficient. He is VERY SLOW when he writes and quite fast when he types.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

