Genetic Algorithm

“Mommy! Genetic algorithm is AI, ML and DL all at the same time! Scary information. It’s scary information for me,” Simon stares at me, a brand new Daniel Shiffman tutorial on intelligence and learning paused on the screen.  I come up to my little boy and hold him. We talk about AI and his fears. Does he sense the grandeur, the tsunami of technological change that is about to engulf us? “I quite like my life as it currently is”, he once told me during a similar conversation while trying to pinpoint why he sometimes feels afraid of AI.

After a short break he resumes watching Daniel Shiffman talk about the final and the most exciting chapter of his book The Nature of Code. Later the same evening Simon attempts to write a genetic algorithm code. He hasn’t finished yet when I call him to bed. He file-saves the code to resume tomorrow and sighs: “Last night, the sleeping lasted so long!” On his screen, I see written in Java:

 

Genetic Algorithm 28 Mar 2017

 

Leave a Reply

